Communications Undersecretary Lorraine Badoy, concurrent spokesperson of the National Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (NTF-ELCAC), claimed once again without basis that Vice President Leni Robredo “colluded” with the Communist Party of the Philippines – New People’s Army – National Democratic Front (CPP-NPA-NDF) and select party-list groups in the May elections.


In a Facebook post, Badoy expressed dismay that Kabataan party list “managed an increase to half a million votes” while other groups she had red-tagged in her so-called “CPP-NPA-NDF partylist groups,” had “drastic reduction” in the votes they got in the May 9 elections compared to previous polls.

She then said:

“We attribute these votes to the treachery of Leni Robredo who colluded with the CPP NPA NDF…”

Source: NTF-ELCAC Official Facebook Page, READ | Statement on CPP-NPA-NDF Partylists Groups (archive), May 22, 2022

She went further to blame Robredo, who did not endorse Kabataan party list, saying:

“For the record, if Leni Robredo had not conspired with this terrorist organization, there would have been one less seat in Congress for this terrorist organization…”


Lawyer Barry Gutierrez, Robredo’s spokesman, belied Badoy’s accusations, saying these are “patently and completely false,” and have been “denied time and again.”

Gutierrez emphasized that no proof has ever been presented to substantiate the “wild allegations.”

In a text message to VERA Files Fact Check, incoming Kabataan party list Rep. Raoul Manuel said Badoy’s statement is part of NTF-ELCAC’s “disinformation efforts” to defeat its representation of the youth in Congress.

Read the full story on VERA Files Fact Check.

Related fact check

VERA Files is a nonstock, nonprofit independent media organization registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission (Company Registration No. CN200808072). Founded in March 2008, it is published by veteran Filipino journalists taking a deeper look into current Philippine issues. Vera is Latin for “true.”

VERA Files was founded by journalists Ellen Tordesillas, Luz Rimban, Booma Cruz, Jennifer Santiago, Yvonne T. Chua and Chit Estella (who passed away in a road crash on May 13, 2011).