Claim: Former Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA) spokesperson Celina Pialago is a nominee of 111 Frontliners Ang Bida party-list group.

Rating: FALSE


The verified Facebook page “Asec Celine Pialago” shared on March 30, 2022 (9:48 am) this picture that identifies Pialago as a “nominee” of 111 Frontliners ang Bida party-list group (Asec Celine Pialago, 2022). Concerned citizens have also posted tarpaulins of this party-list group naming Pialago as its nominee (see, for example, Depasucat, 2022).

Based on Kontra Daya’s (2022) data set (as culled from various sources of information), the five party-list nominees of this party-list group are Joher H. Joson, Arturo N. Atayde, Ruby Rose B. Lumbad-Del Castillo, Jaybee C. Ruiz and Poch Merick B. Bonifacio II. Pialago is not listed as a party-list nominee of 111 Frontliners Ang Bida party-list group.

Pialago used to be a party-list nominee of the disqualified party-list group Malasakit. She was reportedly “adopted” by her new party-list groups in February 2022 (Philippine News Agency, 2022) even if it was way past the November 15, 2021 deadline for withdrawals and substitutions (De Leon, 2022).

Read the full story on Kontra Daya.

Kontra Daya (Against Fraud) is an election watchdog based in the Philippines.